A New Year and goals are set! First challenge for 2014

One thing I used to love doing was to join in scrapbooking challenges,  something I have not done for a very long time.  Last night My friend and I were checking something out on Facebook when a post on my news feed caught my eye…  (click on the photo and it will take you to Sketchabilities blog)

I just loved the look of it and instead of doing what I had planned with some mouse traps (lol more on that later, and no we don’t have mice 🙂 I decided to give the sketch a go.  After going through my papers which is a mission in its self I came back to doing what I love,  creating with ink and making my own.  I started off with making a background and then went from there. This is what I came up with.

DSCF5441

I totally love the end result!  it was so much fun and was great to get my fingers all inky again.

DSCF5442

My back ground was made with a mixture of distress paints and inks.

DSCF5443

I used small paper bags for my photo mats,  and it also allowed me to creat some hidden journalling  on tag,  which I placed in one of the wee bags.

DSCF5444

I just love this photo of my wee man,  growing up so fast.  Alex aged 5 at KFC Dunedin 🙂

Thanks Sketchabilities for creating such a fun sketch.  I had so much fun and will be back for sure.  So all you scrapper out there wanting a challenge go check their blog out.  They have some amazing designers and awesome examples.  You can find them HERE

10 thoughts on “A New Year and goals are set! First challenge for 2014

  1. Donna, I love this page!! Your background and the paper bag layers are so cool and go so well with that cute photo!! So glad you are back doing challenges and chose ours at Sketchabilities! 🙂

  2. Isn ‘t it funny, sometimes I do challenge after challenge, other times I take a break and just create. You really created something lovely here! Glad you stumbled across that sketch!

  3. I’m so glad you run into Sketchabilities sketch, as your page is superb! love the background you’ve createc. The small paper bags for matting are awesome and so is your little man :).
    Thank you for playing with us at Sketchabilities.

  4. This is awesome!! I love the background that you have created – if you hadn’t have mentioned it I would’ve assumed that it was patterned paper! Wow! Your boy is just adorable too – a cool little dude! 🙂

Leave a Reply

