Another Freaking Scrappy Challenge Time

I am totally guttered,  I had this post scheduled for when I was away and only have discovered that it did not go live!  I’m so so sorry!  so much has happened since I wrote this post that I have totally re did it!  hope you enjoy!  You may want to go grab a coffee/Tea.. hehe or maybe a glass on wine!

This  months Challenge at Another Freaking Scrappy Challenge is …

Using sketch 11 – Father’s Day is celebrated in June in some countries – scrap a memory of your father or grandfather, or another male who has influenced your life greatly.
Using this sketch:
 
Our fathers day in New Zealand is a we bit away yet,  so I thought me being  me that I would do it on a male who has influenced my life greatly….  so can you guess who I did it on…  come on just one guess!   ok so how many of you lovelies got it right!  Well if you guessed  Mr TIM HOLTZ!, your 100% right  🙂  Tim Holtz is the creative director for Ranger,  I have spent many hours going over his u-tube demos,  read his blog and books and lastly played with product.  I love what he has developed and I am so glad that he talked Ranger into creating 7 different shades of brown.
I can now say that I have met him personally and he is truly amazing,  but I will fill you in on that part soon.  When I first started scrap booking I liked to stick photos down with glue, add stickers and if i was adventitious added a bit of chalk!  Since being introduced to distress inks, Tim Holtz stamps and a number of other Ranger products I have not looked back.  I love where my scrapbooking has taken me and hopefully one day it will take me to my dream …. Ranger U!
So here’s what I did!
I kept it pretty simple!  I added lots of inks,  a few embellies and stole the photo of Stamp it… you can find original photo here.
If you like the look of this you can find it in his new book or maybe come join in on a class at scrapbook paradise where I teach.
Another one of my favourite techniques at the moment.  Top the side you can see one of the new flourishes I get to play with from flourish with a bling.
I changed the colour of some lace with distress stain and added some tissue tape, added some stamping and that’s its..  Hope you enjoyed.
Anne has just put up this posting today…
Hello scrappers – we are having a design team call and are interested in your applications!!  Please send a link to your blog so that we can see your creations.  We ask our designers to visit the blogs of those who play our challenges and leave them some encouragement in the comments of their entry, and also to help in choosing two entries for each challenge to feature as our faves that month. We have two challenges a month to play along with – one is a prompt challenge and the other a sketch only challenge (without prompt).

Please send applications to anne.pennington@xplornet.com by30 June 12.

Can’t wait to see who applies!!!!

Which leads into my other news.  Last night I decided that some things for me had to change, and sadly this means I am ending my Design Team Position with Another Freaking Scrappy Challenge.  With my kiddies all growing and new things happening I had to let a few things go.  I have had a ball here and learnt so much.  AFSC was my first ever DT  and I truly appreciated all that Anne and the team have taught me.    And most importantly all you amazing ladies that have been entering the monthly challenge!  you are all amazing and I have loved coming over to look at all your stunning projects!
I can’t wait to see who applies and when time allows me I will be back to play some challenges.
Now for our trip!
What a blast we had!  Six days in Sydney…  What an amazing place and so warm. People were swimming in the sea!  CRAZY!!!!  The flight over was awesome apart from my ears going on me!  The traffic was C R A Z Y,  so many cars!!!
Our hotel on Coogee Beach was stunning and huge,  we were on the top floor and had an awesome view of Coogee.  If you are ever there you need to go visit the Black Pony!  oh my it was divine… such wonderful food!
Saturday we ventured out into the big city, visited Paddies Market and then off to the convention Centre to see all the paper craft stall and of course Tim Holtz and Mario!
This guy is truly an amazing talent and put up with all my questions, lol and signed my journal!!!
After Tim’s Demo, we had a chat with the crew from Stamp it!  oh the goodies that are coming our way soon! so exciting….
After an eventful day we headed back to the hotel and found ourselves back at The Black Pony
for another fab meal!!!! Then time to settle down,  have a look at all the goodies we got from the day and plan our day of shopping.  Which we did in true fashion. Loads of fun and so much to see.  Monday was the reason we were here.  the day of all days…  I had butterflies in my tummy all morning!
Centre Front row seats,  the best view from the hotel ever lol.  Tim is such an amazing teacher!
The Man Mario,  the behinds the sence man is totally lovely,  here you can see him twittering.   And he loved his chewing gum for Mario Jr.  Enjoy!
Elena and Tim, such a cool photo,  there is more but on Elenas camera.
stolen from Scrapbook Paradise Facebook page 🙂 Tim and me !!!!
We spent the whole day going over 20 techniques to bring back and share with you all in future classes…. exciting.  The next day we went sight-seeing and a bit more shopping.  early off to bed to get the plane in morning.  First thing we did when we hit New Zealand ground!   A nice cold one.  well that’s all for now.  I do have lots more photos and things to share. I will finish my journal and pop it up on here and the shop for a bit!
See ya all later  xox Donna
2 thoughts on “Another Freaking Scrappy Challenge Time

Leave a Reply

