Work in progress… my Journal!

Hello,  well hasn’t the weather changed!  Snow on the hills and very chilly…  Well over the past few days I have been making a Journal for my big trip to OZ to take with me to the Tim Holtz/Ranger Educator Course.   SUPER excited.  I realised the other day it will be the first time in over 19 years that I have been kid-less.  (hope I handle it)  hope they do to!  This is a work in progress and not yet finished,  but  getting there.  I will add photos and other memorabilia in it as I go.

I made the folder from scratch,  it started as a 12 by 12 bit of chip board,  used Tim’s binder rings for the center and then made pages.  The back ground on the front  of the  folder is my favourite tech right now.  The tag is totally inspired by Tim’s 12 months of tags, June.  Check it out here.  I did not have any nibs so I thought I would have a go at that technique when I get back.  I have used lots (7) of WOW embossing powders threw out this project.  There colours go wonderfully with  the distress ink  and disillusions sprays ( one of my New fav’s at the mow) > I have all so used one of my new swirls from flourish with a bling… so yummy.

Close up of manikin, I love this stamp and just about use her all the time.   I mixed Primary Ebony, Cable Car Red and Metallic Copper to emboss her.  I used  Cable Car Red for my title as well.  I think red has become one of my favorite colors

Here is one of my new delish swirls from Flourish With a Bling.  I have added some stamps effect metallic rub, copper to give it a distressed/vintage look.

View of outside of folder,  I used canvas and stained it with walnut stain  for the binding.

Top view, look at all those different colors….

Inside cover, first page.  Big pocket to add bits into.  I have made smaller pockets using Tim’s dry embossing plates and them embossed the with Wow cable car red.  added stains over it and embellished.

Close up of pocket,  Brads to where and from we are flying to.  I need some red cotton or twine to wrap round the brads, and I have circled the day we leave.

Living the dream….  says it all!

Pockets I have made, all using embossing powders and distress stain.

Gotta love a bit of metal

That’s all I am going to share for now,  still needs some work done on the background pages.  I can not wait to add all by trip memorabilia to it!

New Zealand Paper Chase has just put up there new challenge for the month,  Sonya has made a lovely sample to get you all inspired.  Don’t forget to start looking in your local book store soon, as  the new winter mag is about to be released.  Exciting.

Another Freaking Scrappy Challenge this month is scrap your wedding, so if you have some wedding photos and want to play we would love to see you.

Over at Flourish with a bling, the design team has put up there first challenge for the month,  there is some AMAZING samples to inspire you all.  The challenge is a colour one this month.

WOW Embossing Powders (US) blog has got amazing new ideas everyday.  Alway full of amazing art,  so go take a look.

So only 8 more sleeps till Elena and I go on our big adventure!!!!  YIPPEEEEE.  I have a couple of projects to finish off and write-up before I go as they will appear while I am away.  I need to start thinking about what I am going to take,  get all the meals cooked and kids sorted.  I have my passport, luggage, camara and other bits and bobs…  Do I need anything else.  What do you take when you go away?  Take care everyone,  and happy scrappin  xox Donna.

P.S  oh my gosh I am going to meet Tim  and Mario,  and I even have chewing gum for Mario Junior,  he collects it.  Actually good question.  Is there a chewing gum that is made from New Zealand?  anyone know.  I spent ages in the super market the other day reading the packets and they all seem to come from OZ.. help anyone.

One thought on “Work in progress… my Journal!

Leave a Reply

