A Word Challenge this time round at Challenge Me Happy

Ok this is going to be a quick posting,  as its only 10am and the kiddies are losing the plot already.    This fortnight’s challenge at Challenge Me Happy is a word one.  I am really enjoying how doing these challenges are making me think more outside the square.  I have never done a word challenge,  so this was lots of fun. 

Challenge:

And, the word/theme is:

 

HOME

We want the word “home” to be in the title on your LO or project,

and we want it to be clear that ”home” is the theme when looking at it .

It can be in any language you want, does NOT have to be in English.

 

To me home is more than the building you live in,  it’s the  unconditional love of a family.  My home is my family,  and we could be anywhere and it would still be home.    Here’s my take, 

I really love working with graphic 45,  I Just had to get this paper range when it came out,  A very fond childhood memory.   So here you can see I’ve done another dimensional  one,  lots and lots of time cutting elements that I wanted to pop.

My journalling which say… ” It’s not the bricks and mortar that makes a home, it’s the love of the family within them.” So true,  don’t you think? The wee sweeties in this photo are  Ruby,  Amber-leigh, Jade and Alex.

I cut the framing out of a second piece the same as my background one. then added crackle painted. Let it dry and added back to the layout with foam dots to give it height. I cut other elements out to build up my layout.  The gorgeous  people in this part of the photo is my oldest daughter,  Samantha  and partner Charlie.

My big boy william,  he’s only 14 and taller than all of us.  I’ve added glossy accents to highlight some of the awesome characters of Oz.  I love the Tin man  and that lion is just so cute.

You can’t have an Oz layout with out Dorothy,  I have used distress stickles on her shoes,  They came up a treat,  You can also see all the layering of the poppies. 

My title, “there’s no place like HOME”.   I have my title  up with mounting tape and then used glossy  accents to highlight the words.  For the actual word “home” I have also added so  added metallic rub and alcohol ink to make then pop.  In real life it really stands out, you may not be able to tell in photo.   I wish I had taken a photo of the paper before I started as it is actually quiet different from layout.  I will see if I can go find one online.. hang on

The Magic of Oz

hehe it worked,  Now you can see all the changes I made.  If you ladies out there feel like a bit of a challenge,  come on over and join in at Challenge me Happy.  It’s a great blog,   with lots of awesome ladies…  Happy scrappin everyone

4 thoughts on “A Word Challenge this time round at Challenge Me Happy

Leave a Reply

